Winery Diemersfontein

Quantity: 1
Pinotage 2020
  • John Platter 4 stars
Diemersfontein Pinotage 2019
Price €13,40

(17,87 €/ l)
incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Winery Diemersfontein


The Sonnenberg family has owned the farm since the early 1940s. In 1970, the first vines were planted. In the year 2000 the Diemersfontein Winery was built. In 2001, the first vintage of the world-famous Diemersfontein Pinotage was harvested. The chocolate and coffee notes typical of this wine triggered a trend in the Cape that continues to this day. So-called Chocolate Pinotages or Coffee Pinotages can be found in the assortment of many wineries today. The Java Pinotage from Van Loveren or the Barista Pinotage from the Val de Vie winery are just two of many examples. The most famous wine of all, however, is the original, the Diemersfontein Pinotage.

In addition to the dominant grape variety Pinotage , the Diemersfontein winery also grows other grape varieties such as Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon, Viognier, Barbera, Roobernet and Mourvèdre. The Diemersfontein winery regularly wins awards for its wines, such as Platter's Wine Guide, Michelangelo International Wine Awards and Mundus Vini.

  • Founded:

    1942
  • Address:

    R301, Jan Van Riebeeck Dve, Newtown, Wellington, 7655, South Africa.
  • Area:

    183 Ha
  • Max & Moritz Favourite wine:

    Diemersfontein Pinotage
  • Tasting Room:

    daily from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. clock

WinemakerFrancois Roode and Brett Rightford


Francois Roode began his journey in the wine industry when he made his first harvest at Perdeberg in 2001. He then completed a two-year degree at Elsenburg. In 2003, he got the opportunity to work as an assistant winemaker at Diemersfontein Winery. He immediately fell in love with this region and its special terroir.

Francois lives in Wellington with his wife Elrine and daughter Sophia. Francois Roode loves nature. When he is not in the wine cellar, he spends his time fishing. Francois has been at Diemersfontein for more than 10 years now and creates, among other things, the world-famous Diemersfontein Pinotage. The grape variety Pinotage is very close to his heart, especially as it is a unique South African variety. Rhône blends, Shiraz and Chenin Blanc are also among his favourites.

Loading...

Weingut Diemersfontein Weine online kaufen - The WineStore

Weingut Diemersfontein

Anzahl: 1
Pinotage 2019
  • John Platter 4 Sterne
Diemersfontein Pinotage 2019
Preis €13,40

(17,87 €/ l)
inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Weingut Diemersfontein


Seit Anfang der 1940er Jahren ist die Farm im Besitz der Familie Sonnenberg. Im Jahr 1970 wurden die ersten Reben gepflanzt. Im Jahr 2000 wurde dann das Weinguts Diemersfontein gebaut. Im Jahr 2001 wurde der erste Jahrgang des weltberühmten Diemersfontein Pinotage geerntet. Die für diesen Wein typischen Schokoladen- und Kaffeenoten lösten am Kap einen Trend aus, der bis heute anhält. Sogenannte Chocolate Pinotages oder Coffee Pinotages sind heute im Sortiment vieler Weingüter zu finden. Der Java Pinotage von Van Loveren oder der Barista Pinotage vom Weingut Val de Vie sind nur zwei von vielen Beispielen. Der bekannteste Wein von allen ist jedoch das Original, der Diemersfontein Pinotage.

Das Weingut Diemersfontein baut neben der dominierenden Rebsorte Pinotage auch andere Rebsorten wie Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon, Viognier, Barbera, Roobernet und Mourvèdre an. Das Weingut Diemersfontein gewinnt für seine Weine regelmäßig Auszeichnungen wie Platter's Wine Guide, Michelangelo International Wine Awards und Mundus Vini.

  • Gegründet:

    1942
  • Adresse:

    R301, Jan Van Riebeeck Dve, Newtown, Wellington, 7655, Südafrika
  • Fläche:

    183 Ha
  • Max & Moritz Lieblingswein:

    Diemersfontein Pinotage
  • Tasting Room:

    täglich von 10:00 Uhr bis 17:00 Uhr

Winemaker: Francois Roode and Brett Rightford


Francois Roode begann seine Reise in der Weinindustrie, als er 2001 seine erste Ernte bei Perdeberg machte. Anschließend absolvierte er ein zweijähriges Studium bei Elsenburg. Im Jahr 2003 bekam er die Möglichkeit als Assistenzwinzer beim Weingut Diemersfontein zu arbeiten. Sofort verliebte er sich in diese Region und das besondere Terroir.

Francois lebt mit seiner Frau Elrine und seiner Tochter Sophia in Wellington. Francois Roode liebt die Natur. Wenn er nicht gerade im Weinkeller ist verbringt er seine Zeit beim Fischen. Francois ist nun schon seit mehr als 10 Jahren beim Weingut Diemersfontein und kreiert unter anderem den weltweit berühmten Diemersfontein Pinotage. Die Rebsorte Pinotage liegt ihm sehr am Herzen, zumal es sich um eine einzigartige südafrikanische Sorte handelt. Rhône-Blends, Shiraz und Chenin Blanc zählen außerdem zu seinen Favoriten.

Loading...